A Path Still Taken

I walk down the path towards a horizon that seems far away
I walk the miles with an optimism that won’t betray.

In the lengthening shadows of the trees, I look for you
Desperately seeking your presence, if you only knew.

I feel you in my soul, I see you in my mind’s eye
I whisper your name, hoping the wind will carry my cry.

Walking alone, looking up at the stars in the sky
A lonely sojourn and a yearning I cannot deny.

Sometimes I look behind, hoping to find you
Darkness stares back at me, an emptiness I rue.

My feet will not carry me forever
Tired in body, my spirit will still endeavor.

Restless I go off to sleep, to welcome another day
Dreaming dreams that will let my fears outplay.

3 thoughts on “A Path Still Taken

Leave a Reply

