An early Spring Dawn

A little before dawn, the sky is still dark.I slip outside into the chill of a
waning winter wind.The nip has gone.There is a stirring in the trees, their naked branches shuddering in the chill.I look upmat the sky hoping to see the sun.

a rosy red sun
appears from behind grey clouds__
fragrance of blossoms

The day is coming alive..from the backyard, my ears catch a lilt.It is magical.The birds are back from their southern jaunts.Some never left home
and are warbling away merrily.phoebe, phoebe whistles the Chickadee,
peter, peter yells the tufted Titmouse in musical overtones,Nuthatches
sound their tiny horns.

the birds
return from their winter homes__
a woodpecker hammers

I see the clouds clearing and the warmth of the sun streams down.
All of a sudden my toe strikes dirt, the snow has been melting and
viola! What do I see? A pale yellow bloom of winter aconite nudging
through the whiteness.Little green leaves peep from under melting ice
mixed with mud…

blushing buds unfurl___
as Glory of the Snow blooms
the Snowdrop sparkles

a smile
lifts the corners of my mouth__
I sigh…

Leave a Reply

